31 December 2018

What Chloe’s Reading – 2019

Print and e-books I’ve finished in 2019 (in addition to various and sundry research books and IN DEATH audiobooks):

  1. To the Bright Edge of the World, Eown Ivey
  2. Shady Characters, Keith Houston
  3. The Library, Susan Orlean
  4. Finders Keepers, Craig Childs
  5. The Animal Dialogues, Craig Childs
  6. Connections in Death, J.D. Robb
  7. Atlas of a Lost World, Craig Childs
  8. The Secret Knowledge of Water, Craig Childs
  9. The Collected Schizophrenias, Esme’ Weijun Wang
  10. Apocalyptic Planet, Craig Childs
  11. A Voyage Long and Strange, Tony Horowitz
  12. Nevernight, Jay Kristoff*
  13. Godsgrave, Jay Kristoff*
  14. Underground, Will Hunt
  15. The Black God’s Drums, P. Djeli Clark
  16. Luna: Moon Rising, Ian McDonald
  17. A Perilous Undertaking, Deanna Raybourne**
  18. A Treacherous Curse, Deanna Raybourne**
  19. A Dangerous Collaboration, Deanna Raybourne**
  20. Tip of the Iceberg, Mark Adams
  21. Deal with the Devil, Kit Rocha (Coming March 2020!)
  22. Two Years at The Mast, Richard Dana (Research for TBBS)
  23. Westside, W. M. Akers***
  24. Circe, Madeline Miller
  25. Storm of Locusts, Rebecca Roanhorse (Second book in a fantastic urban fantasy series!)
  26. Tempest, William Shakespeare
  27. Achilles, Madeline Miller
  28. Dreyer’s English, Benjamin Dreyer
  29. Urn Burial, Kerry Greenwood
  30. Unnatural Magic, C.M. Waggoner (Coming November 2019)
  31. The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter, Theodora Goss
  32. Wolf Hall, Hillary Mantel
  33. The Motivation Myth, Jeff Haden
  34. Vengeful, V.E. Schwab
  35. Underland, Robert MacFarlane
  36. The Old Ways, Robert MacFarlane
  37. Moby Dick, Herman Melville
  38. Beloved, Toni Morrison
  39. Hallucinations, Oliver Sacks
  40. Gideon the Ninth, Tamsyn Muir****
  41. The Sea Around Us, Rachel Carson
  42. Mountains of the Mind, Robert MacFarlane

* – Very dark and absolutely amazing fantasy with a bit of Harry Potter–if everyone was a Slytherin. The world-building is exceptional.

** – These books are from the Veronica Speedwell series, which is now one of my all-time favorites. Victorian historical mysteries with an amazingly smart heroine, challenging hero, and lots of delicious tension.

*** – Very cool noir/mystery/fantasy, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Lyndsay Faye, and Scott Hawkins.

**** – One of the best books I’ve read in years. Dark/sarcastic fantasy with kickass heroine, LGBTQ representation, and amazing world-building. Fans of Nevernight will love this.

Click here to see reading lists from previous years.

TwitterPinterestAmazon Wish ListTumblrKindle ItShare